Queensbury UFSD selects first Athletics Hall of Fame class and launches new Athletics Record Book 

The Queensbury Union Free School District has announced its inaugural class to be inducted into the newly created Athletics Hall of Fame.  

The Athletics Hall of Fame recognizes and honors athletes, coaches, teams, administrators, staff and community members who have made significant contributions to the district’s athletics program. The first classBlack and white photo of girls cross country team in 1977 includes two teams of distinction and 41 individual honorees, including athletes, coaches, athletic directors and contributors. 

“Queensbury High School has such a rich history within the athletic department,” said Rich Keys, the director of Health, PE and Athletics at Queensbury Union Free School District. “This opportunity to recognize those people is long overdue.”

The inaugural group will be honored at two separate induction ceremonies. Half of the group has been invited to attend a ceremony on Oct. 14, 2023, at Lake George’s Courtyard by Marriott. The other half will be invited to a second event in the fall of 2024. 

The first group includes: 

  • 1977 Varsity Girls Cross Country (team of distinction)
  • Beverly Carpenter ’57 (coach)
  • Charles “Chuck” Connolly (coach)
  • Jeffrey Cook ’74 (athlete to be honored posthumously)
  • Dr. Amy Phelps Davis ’81 (athlete)
  • John Dennett (athletic director/coach)
  • Robert “Bob” Glendening ’80 (athlete)
  • Quentin Howe ’85 (athlete to be honored posthumously)
  • Dr. John “Jack” Irion (contributor to be honored posthumously)
  • John Irion ’77 (coach)
  • John “Jack” LaBombard (coach)
  • Joseph Lehet ’71 (coach)
  • John “Jay” Marra ’70 (coach)
  • Terry Martin (coach)
  • Christine Bergeron Merrill ’79 (athlete)
  • Lloyd Mott (athletic director/coach to be honored posthumously) 
  • Laura VanDenburg Paniccia ’78 (athlete)
  • Mark Sheehan ’79 (athlete)
  • Craig Short ’77 (athlete to be honored posthumously) 
  • Timothy Smith ’63 (athlete)
  • William “Bill” Smith, Jr. (coach)
  • Elsie Stec (contributor)
  • Andrew Varney ’80 (athlete)
  • Heidi Mann Vittengl ’82 (athlete)

The group being inducted in 2024 includes:  

  • 1997 Varsity Girls Cross Country (team of distinction)
  • William “Bill” Anderson, Jr. ’89 (contributor/athlete to be honored posthumously)
  • Julie Clark ’89 (athlete) 
  • Gary Crossman ’92 (athlete)
  • Kevin Crossman ’94 (athlete)
  • Heather Fiore DiBiase ’93 (athlete)
  • Jeffrey Dybas ’87 (athlete)
  • Joshua Etu ’99 (athlete)
  • Matthew Goetz ’87 (athlete)
  • Brendan Harris ’98 (athlete)
  • Caitlin Hickin ’00 (athlete)
  • Dr. Christine Nicholson ’89 (athlete)
  • Scott Paltrowitz ’00 (athlete)
  • Suzanne LaMere Seifert ’88 (athlete)
  • Daniel Stine ’98 (athlete)
  • Eric Stoddard ’00 (athlete)
  • Kevin Sullivan (coach)
  • Adam Terry ’00 (athlete)
  • Robert “Bob” Underwood (coach)

All the nominees graduated from Queensbury in 2000 or earlier and/or participated in athletics at QUFSD during the 20th century. 

Black and white photo of a high school wrestler“The history of Queensbury athletics runs deep,” said Superintendent of Schools Kyle Gannon. “At this event, we’ll be able to formally acknowledge individuals and teams that deserve this recognition.”

Tickets for the event are $50 per person, including appetizers and a buffet dinner with choice of beef or chicken and a cash bar. To purchase tickets, send a check to QUFSD Athletics Department, 409 Aviation Road, Queensbury, N.Y. 12804. Checks should be made out to: “Queensbury Booster Club.” Contact Carey Breault at (518) 824-5688 or email cbreault@queensburyschool.org for additional information. 

Queensbury UFSD has also launched an Athletics Record Book site with detailed statistics and program accomplishments. The information, which is organized by sports season, can be found at https://www.queensburyschool.org/athletics/athletics-record-book/ on the district’s website.